Bibliotecario ChatGPT:
Language: English | Views:124

See all reviews
tapa de

Review of The Silmarillion [Illustrated Edition]

Do you love epic fantasy stories that take you to a world of wonder, magic, and adventure? If so, you might want to check out The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien, the author of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings.

The Silmarillion is a collection of myths and legends that tell the story of the creation and history of Middle-earth, the setting of Tolkien's most famous works. It covers thousands of years, from the beginning of time to the end of the First Age, and introduces many characters and places that are only briefly mentioned or hinted at in The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings.

The Silmarillion is divided into five parts. The first part, Ainulindalë, describes how Eä, the world that is, was made by the music of the Ainur, angelic beings created by Ilúvatar, the supreme God. The second part, Valaquenta, gives an account of the Valar and Maiar, the powerful spirits who shaped and ruled over Eä and its lands.

The third and longest part, Quenta Silmarillion, narrates the events of the First Age, focusing on the wars between the Elves and Morgoth (formerly Melkor), the Dark Lord who rebelled against Ilúvatar and corrupted many creatures. The main theme of this part is the fate of the Silmarils, three jewels made by Fëanor, an Elf prince, that contained the light of the Two Trees of Valinor, the blessed realm of the Valar. Morgoth stole the Silmarils and set them in his iron crown, and Fëanor and his sons swore an oath to recover them at any cost. Their quest led to many tragedies and heroic deeds, involving Elves, Men, Dwarves, Dragons, Balrogs, and other beings.

The fourth part, Akallabêth, tells the story of Númenor, a great island kingdom given to Men by the Valar as a reward for their help against Morgoth. However, Númenor fell under the influence of Sauron (Morgoth's former lieutenant) and became corrupted by pride and greed. Eventually, Númenor defied the Valar and tried to invade Valinor itself, but was destroyed by Ilúvatar.

The fifth part, Of the Rings of Power and the Third Age, summarizes the events that led to The Lord of the Rings. It explains how Sauron forged the One Ring to dominate Middle-earth and how he was opposed by a Last Alliance of Elves and Men. It also describes how he returned centuries later and how he was finally defeated by Frodo Baggins and his companions.

The Silmarillion [Illustrated Edition] is a beautiful book that contains many illustrations by Ted Nasmith, a renowned Tolkien artist. It is a must-read for any fan of Tolkien's works who wants to learn more about his rich and complex mythology. It is also a source of inspiration for anyone who enjoys stories of courage, loyalty, sacrifice, love, and hope in the face of evil.

If you are ready to embark on an amazing journey through Middle-earth's past, order your copy of The Silmarillion today! You won't regret it!

Get free Kindle book for your phone Get this free audiobook on AudibleBuy book on Amazon

En 10 años regalamos 50 millones de libros a 10 millones de personas de todo el Mundo!
Es nuestro grano de arena para mejorarlo.

Descargar de Google Play
Síguenos en Facebook
eXTReMe Tracker